CALL TO ORDER — March 20, 2018: Kyle Parkhurst, President (2020), called the meeting to order at 7 p.m. Members in attendance were Troy Lesan (2018), Jeffrey Speaker (2019), Arlo Aschbrenner (2020) and Gary Teegarden (2018). Also in attendance were Roger Barker, water superintendent, and Diane Hulett, clerk.


Troy Lesan moved to approve the minutes of the January 16, 2018, Board of Directors meeting. Jeffrey Speaker seconded. All members were in favor; motion carried. Due to the February meeting being cancelled because of weather, there were no February minutes to approve.


There were no visitors in attendance for public comment.


Troy Lesan nominated Jeffrey Speaker as secretary and Arlo Aschbrenner seconded before nominations were closed. With a unanimous vote, Jeffrey Speaker was elected secretary.

Roger updated the board on information he received from two additional radio read meter companies.


The Viking Valley Association maintenance agreement was presented for approval with no changes from the previous year. Troy Lesan made a motion to approve the agreement. Arlo Aschbrenner seconded. All members were in favor; motion carried.

Updating the bank signature cards was tabled until next meeting.

Roger informed the board that Viking Valley Association transferred ownership of the cable television tower located on lot #3008 to PWSD#3.

Jeffrey Speaker made a motion and Troy Lesan seconded to amend the Water User and Tap Fee Agreements to include driver’s license and SSN information, and to change the name of Special Water Assessment Fee to One Time Customer Utility Deposit on the Water User’s Agreement. All members voted to approve; motion carried.

A motion was made by Troy Lesan and seconded by Arlo Aschbrenner to increase the meter installation fee from $500 to $750 in order to cover costs. All members voted in favor; motion carried.

Financial Report: The financial reports and bills for January and February were reviewed and discussed.  Troy Lesan moved to approve the January and February financial reports as submitted and approve the bills.  Arlo Aschbrenner seconded. All members voted to approve; motion carried.


Superintendent Report: Roger gave a brief report on events he has attended over the past two months which included the MRWA Board meeting at Hermann, Water Rally in Washington, D.C., and the Annual Conference at Branson. He also reported on repairs that are being made to the raw water pump.

Kyle Parkhurst, president, announced the next meeting would be April 17, 2018 at 7 p.m. at the water plant.  Arlo Aschbrenner moved to adjourn at 8:55 p.m. Gary Teegarden seconded. All members were in favor; motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted,
Jeffrey Speaker

%d bloggers like this: