The membership of Viking Valley Association met virtually on March 7 for the annual meeting of members to conduct the annual board election, approve the budget and assessments, and to consider bylaw changes and other annual business. Approximately 80 attended by Zoom.

Dues and assessments were proposed at a lower rate this year, as the one-time dredge assessment from 2020 will be discontinued. In 2021, Lake Viking will continue the challenges of a major upgrade with an engineered dredge silt basin.

Troy Lesan, who has served on the board since 2015, was re-elected to the board. Also joining the board as a new member is Allan Slavin, who has been a lot owner at the lake since 1993. Board members serve three-year terms.

The membership approved the 2021 budget and 5-year financial plan.

Roger Lankford won the Nevin Burns Safety Award for his years of volunteer service, most recently  being chair of the infraction committee.

Outgoing Board President Susan Zalenski won the Loa Parkhurst Volunteer of the Year award. Susan helped pilot the lake through a very successful year despite additional challenges brought by COVID.

This year’s annual meeting was on Zoom rather than crowding the usual 100+ people into the clubhouse. Voting, which still had to be done in person, then took place at the clubhouse during a 2-hour window after the meeting. Voting was scheduled at different times according to alphabetical order of last name.

There were 104 members who voted. Members were able to vote without attending the virtual meeting if they wished and could do so at the clubhouse by showing their membership card.

There was also drive-in voting option expedited by the volunteer fire department in the parking lot. The meeting was then briefly resumed on Zoom to announce voting results.

The new board then convened in an executive session to determine officers as follows: Tony Gronniger, president; Mark Leggett, first vice president; Mike Booth, second vice president; Celeste Armanees, secretary; Allan Slavin, assistant secretary; Troy Lesan, treasurer; and Marvin McNabb, assistant treasurer.